The 10 Most Influential Books of My Life (Probably)

To be fair, this list is probably missing some key books that had a great influence on my life, and the way I think currently. But the challenge posed to me by Jen was to pick my list without thinking too hard about it. This is hard for me to do. I like to think before I post. Sometimes. But, in any case, here is my top 10, I think…

  1. The Bible (…and not in the way you think, probably)
  2. Guns, Germs and Steel, by Jared Diamond
  3. The Art of War, by Sun Tzu
  4. The Tipping Point, by Malcolm Gladwell
  5. The Origin of Satan, by Elaine Pagels
  6. The Face of Battle, by John Keegan
  7. The Druid’s Tune, by O. R. Melling
  8. The Rise and Fall of the Great Powers, by Paul Kennedy
  9. The Lord of the Rings, by J. R. Tolkien
  10. Vingt mille lieues sous les mers, by Jules Verne
  11. There are other books, mostly in French, that could be added here, but I will save those for another time.

Since I cheated, and looked at Jen’s blog before I did this post, I will also give you some bonus listings:

Favourite play: Cyrano de Bergerac, by Edmond Rostand

Favourite graphic novel: V for Vendetta, by Alan Moore

Favourite Comic Book Series: The Sandman, by Neil Gaiman

That’s it! Feel free to comment on this list, and add your own list. Check out Jen’s blog to see what her top 10 is.

One Response to “The 10 Most Influential Books of My Life (Probably)”

  1. Interesting list. Big on history/strategy I sees.

    My list includes
    – Hitchiker’s Guide to the Galaxy
    – Adventures of Sherlock Holmes
    – Foundation (& Empire series)
    – Childhood’s End
    – Ender’s Game
    – Neuromancer
    – Lord of the Rings
    – The Divine Comedy
    – Dungeon and Dragons Handbooks
    – Wikinomics

    I’m guessing I could add another 50 books to the list but these are the ones that pop in mind first.

Leave a Reply

