Top 5 Places I’d Like to Visit

Jen, the kids, and I have just come back from Disney World. It was a trip we had planned to do for years, but we wanted to make sure the kids were old enough that they could remember it. Also, we had to save enough money to be able to pay for it. I had never been to Disney World before, and if you had asked me a few years back, I had no desire to go. Now that I have been, I don’t think I would ever go again. Not that I did not enjoy it. I was glad to have had the opportunity to experience the “magic” of Disney, and to give that experience to my kids. But there are so many other places in the world that I want to visit that it would seem a waste to go back to Florida.

With that in mind, Jen and I thought it would be a great time to do a top 5 list of places we’d like to visit. It’s better to start planning now right? So without further ado, here is my top 5 list:

  1. France and the Netherlands: More specifically, a tour of the battlefields of Northern France. I’d like to walk the beaches of Normandy, to walk the streets of Caen and follow the path of the 1st Canadian Army during the Second World War. I want to visit the trenches of the First World War. Mostly, I want to pay my respects to the thousands of young men who gave their lives. I want to be able to share this with my family, and to teach my children the value of peace and the meaning of sacrifice.
  2. Japan: I have always had a soft spot for Japan. From my younger days of reading about Samurai and its history, to coming to realize its accomplishments as an adult.
  3. Mediterranean: Italy, Greece, Turkey, Egypt…what’s not to like? You can’t take two steps without coming face to face with history.

As I was writing this, I realized I don’t have a top 5 places to visit. I have a top 3. Try as I might, I could not think of other places I’d absolutely want to visit. Is it because I am comfortable with where I am in my life? I’m not sure. I’m not even sure if Japan and the Mediterranean should even be there. France and the Netherlands, definitely.

Anyway, I’m a little disappointed in this post. I thought for sure there would be places I would absolutely want to go. But sometimes you discover things about yourself when you write a blog. And here we are.

See what places Jen wants to visit!

7 Responses to “Top 5 Places I’d Like to Visit”

  1. How about Australia? Hawaii for the geology and the beaches? Maybe the Grand Canyon – much more amazing in person than you’d think? Maybe a canoe trip in the Yukon, or a drive down the Californian west cost on Highway 1? Would you brave India? There’s just so many choices!

    • Maybe I should clarify. It’s not that I am completely against travelling. I would never say no to those trips if they came up. But I don’t think I would go out of my way to plan for them.

      Now going out in nature for a weekend with just a tent, canoe and some basics, that I would love to do.

  2. Given that our tastes often intertwine, I would have thought Scotland/Ireland to be on your list. It blends well with the reasons for your #2/#3. Plus you gave me an idea for a similar post!

    • Ireland I have visited already! Jen and I spent 1 week in the North and 1 week in the South. Beautiful place that I would visit again if the opportunity presented himself. I highly recommend going.

  3. […] friend Luc has a post up about his top 5 travel spots.  Well friend might be too strong a word, depending on the hockey […]

  4. Japan is well worth a visit and its a great place for kids. SOOOO many things to do and see. I would add Ireland to the list too, but then again I’m biased as that’s where I am from!

    Glad to have found your blog through “Free but Fun”‘s award nominations.

  5. Oops just saw your comment that you’ve already been to Ireland!

Leave a Reply

