Taking a Walk or How I Became My Parents

WoodsJen and I decided to go for a walk with the kids on Sunday morning. It’s not something we do regularly, but it was sunny, if a bit cold, and it seemed a waste to stay inside. So off we went, the kids happily following and enjoying the whole experience very much.

That’s what was strange about the whole thing. The kids did not complain. They did not put up a fight. Not at all. They were happy to go. My childhood memories of walks, or any family activity where we HAD to do something really, are not positive. I remember complaining about having to go for a walk. I hated having to do something I had no interest in doing. My parents, I’m sure, wanted to strangle me every time. But they forced me to go with them, up until I was 15 or 16, and then they were just sick of my complaints and let me stay home (I don’t blame them, I was not exactly great to be around when I was surly).

And now, look at me. I want to go on walks.  I want my children to enjoy it. I want us to do something as a family.

The psychology of it all is quite amusing and interesting. I mean, if I sit there an analyze it, it’s clear I want my children to experience a world beyond television or computer screens. Beyond the confines of our property. Beyond even the confines of our neighbourhood. I want them to have that sense of wonder when exploring something new. Of the simple pleasures of walking somewhere they haven’t been before, or of looking at something they have seen before in a new way.

This is exactly what my parents wanted me to experience all those years ago, I am sure. I was just too young and stupid to get it. I’m glad that my own children love going for walks. I’m not naive enough to believe that this will last forever. But I hope that these experiences will bring them to do the same with their children (if they have some).

For now, I’m just hoping it will be a nice day on Sunday.

Have a look a what Jen had to say about family outings.

3 Responses to “Taking a Walk or How I Became My Parents”

  1. Perhaps your kids just want to spend time with you without the distractions of the busy world.

  2. Perhaps at a subconscious level. They seem very happy doing whatever it is they are…well…doing at that moment. That’s the beauty of children. They live in the moment. Maybe this is why my memories of childhood are of long, unending days either fun or hell. The summer break seemed to last forever!

  3. I remember when I was a kid, my parents took me and my siblings to Muir Woods. We complained the whole time, and now all I think of is wanting to go back there. It was beautiful, and we were being jerks. I appreciate liesurely walks a lot more now as an adult, so it’s great you guys all like going on walks together.

Leave a Reply

