It’s ME TIME…Now What?

The topic this week is time to ourselves. What some like to call, ME TIME. You know, that time when you have nothing pressing that must be done. Once, that time began the second you turned off the computer at work and left for home and ended when you went to bed.

It seems like a dream now, but there was so much ME TIME available that you could have a nap, wake up, make and eat dinner, clean up, watch some TV, read a book, play a game on the computer, go play hockey and then go to bed. You could do that all in the same evening!

How things change once we become parents. Now, ME TIME begins once you’ve made sure the kids have done their homework, had their bedtime snack, taken their medication, brushed their teeth, gone to bed, AND THEN made sure that the dishes are done, the lunches for the next day are made and the laundry is folded.

Free time is stressful now. I mean, I usually have an hour left before I have to go to bed. I have to pick out my activity carefully. Do I:

  1. Watch TV
  2. Read
  3. Play a game on the computer (and then get sucked in until midnight because I just have to play a few more minutes)
  4. Spend that free time to do something useful, like writing a book or learning about plumbing, or carpentry, or learning to play a musical instrument.

I can tell you that, based on experience, it is 99% guaranteed that it will be #1, #2 or #3. #3 being the primary. I wish sometimes that #4 would be the top recipient of my attention, but it isn’t.

I look at an old friend of mine, who has, despite having a busy job and three kids to look after, found the time to do his PhD and write several books that have won awards. Lately, he has been battling cancer and he STILL found time to finish another book, which is also up for an award.

I have tons of respect and admiration for him and others like him. And yet, despite everything, I have to say that I enjoy playing a game on the computer or watching TV or reading a book. Why? Because it relaxes the soul. It allows me to refocus, to reconnect with myself, to recharge the batteries.

This is not to say that I will not set time aside to learn something new. Not at all. But I can only do so if I am content.

“Know thyself”, goes the old Greek maxim. It has taken me 40 years to reach a point where I think I understand what that means.

Here are Jen’s thoughts on me time.

2 Responses to “It’s ME TIME…Now What?”

  1. Kelly Fruhauf Says:

    This is why you’re such a good dad and husband. Rock on, Luc. Kill those virtual terrorists and leave the book writing to others (for now anyway). You’re good at what you do. Keep it up!

  2. Thanks Kelly!

Leave a Reply

