Thoughts on Turning 40

Jen and I just went to a good friend’s 40th birthday party yesterday. We had a blast! We also used the party to shamelessly advertise our new idea for a blog and people seemed to be genuinely interested in the “he said she said” concept. So, because the whole turning 40 thing is quite relevant for many within our circle of friends, why not have a blog post on it.

I myself just turned 40 last year, and Jen, well…she turned 40 a few years back (no doubt she’ll have much more insight than I do – he he). I know some people agonize about turning 40. Not me. I just don’t care at all about age. Yes, sometimes my back hurts and it takes me longer to recover from hockey related injuries, but so what. That’s mostly because I’m out of shape and eat too much. I don’t feel any different than when I was 30. In fact I still feel (and act) like a kid sometimes – as many people can attest.

Old isn’t what it used to be. I remember as a kid looking at my grandmother who was 65 at the time and thought she was old. But that was a different time. 65 now is not at all the same as it was in the seventies. I mean, back then, you could expect to live to an average of 73 before you kicked the bucket (in Canada at least). At 65, you were old! Now, anyone who dies at 72 or 74 years of age is thought to have died young! My mom and dad are pushing 70, but they both look and act much younger than that! In my mind, it’s only once you get over 85 that you can be considered old. Over 90, and you get into the venerable category.

Now, I will say that I feel “experienced” whenever I hire students at work. When you think about it, most of these kids were born in the early nineties. You talk to them about the Soviet Union and the Cold War and they tell you “Oh yeah dude, I read about that in my history class in high school”. Ouch. But at the same time, when I talk to them, we share many of the same interests and I don’t feel like there is this wide generational gulf that separates us. The big difference between us is this: I make more money, can eat steak for dinner and buy good beer!

So, essentially, being 40 to me is no different from being 30 or 50 or 60. It’s just a number that tells you how long you’ve been around this Earth. I’ve had a good time so far, and plan on having a great time for many many years to come. Keep the steak and beer coming!

Check out what Jen had to say about turning 40!!

5 Responses to “Thoughts on Turning 40”

  1. Well said!! I think we should all adopt this attitude and we’ll all stay young forever!

  2. I like your attitude, but I find I have trouble embracing it myself – for some reason I just thought that by 40 I should be more mature, more accomplished, more grown up. I remember my mom turning 40 when I was a teenager – she seemed so self-assured, so in charge. I’m still waiting to get there. (Guess that means I do have an internal clock set to 30…25…maybe 15? after all!)

    • That’s a good internal clock! Don’t change it. But according to me, you are quite sure of yourself. Anyone who has blogs, keeps it going and makes a living doing what they love…well that’s someone who has confidence and vision! Signed: Luc

  3. For some reason I had a very hard time turning 30 but I am not at all concerned with turning 40 (i’m only 32 now, though)! I am starting to really embrace getting older, instead of it bothering me. 🙂 I think it’s because I can see such positive changes with myself as I mature, not negative. 😉 In fact, I recently posted along these lines, if you’re interested: http://atlantamomofthree.wordpress.com/2013/02/13/self-evaluation/
    I agree about aging and how much it’s changed!

Leave a Reply

